7 Must Watch Movies For New Horror Fans

Posted: September 19, 2013 in Our Top 10's
Tags: , , , , , , ,

There are a lots of my friend who turn to me when looking for a horror movie to watch considering I’m the horror fanatic within my group of friends.. so needless to say it was only a matter of time before I made a small list of some of the movies I consider a ‘must-watch’ for horror new comers! These are the movies I feel any amateur to the genre should give a go.   But please remember, these are MY recommendations, not according to ratings or popularity!

1.  Cabin Fever  ‘Cabin Fever’ is everything I love in a horror movie.  It’s ridiculous, it’s hilarious and it has a whole lot of blood and guts .  This movie encouraged the biggest crush on Eli Roth and really cemented my love for the genre.  All of the main characters are stereotypical – the ‘nice’ girl, the ‘nice’ boy, the token douche, the semi-retarded guy, the resident skank.

So of course it’s even better when the infection starts to kick in.  I love the cop and Dennis the pancake-loving kid was horror-comedy gold.  It’s movies with this much randomness that make me want more. I would also like to add that if you enjoy this then watch every single one of Eli Roth’s movie one after another!!

8 Must See Horror Films for New Horror Fans

2.  The Evil Dead If Bruce Campbell is God then ‘The Evil Dead’ is the Holy Grail of horror movies.  Sam Raimi basically invented horror-comedy with this cabin-in-the-woods film.  While it is funny and extremely over-the-top, there are also legitimate scares.

I love that the effects are cheesy and even to watch this when it is over thirty years old, it still resonates with me the same way ‘Titanic’ resonates with others.  Kudos to the tree scene; forests will never be the same.

8 Must See Horror Films for New Horror Fans

3.  The Strangers As strange as this might seem, this is the only movie that has really ever scared me when watching the first time out.  As in I-can’t-sleep-because-there-are-monsters-under-my-bed scary.  You cannot watch this movie without a late night, no lights on and possibly a cushion to hide under. This one is truly creepy, maybe considering the possibility of this happening are the highest from all the movies mentioned!!

Liv Tyler and Scott Speedman are pretty typical to watch as their house, and themselves, is abducted by masked strangers.

8 Must See Horror Films for New Horror Fans

 4.  Ginger Snaps Low-budget cult hit ‘Ginger Snaps’ often flies under the radar when it comes to horror lists.  It is such a smart, quick-witted movie with a lot of social relevance that I don’t understand how people miss it.  Werewolves are quite often hard to get right but somehow this movie nails it.

But otherwise this is a fairly B-grade cast – Mimi Rogers kills it as the girls’ oblivious mother.  I would be pretty disappointed if anyone hated this film because it is extremely entertaining and better than some of those straight-to-DVD crapfests we ‘love’ so much.

 8 Must See Horror Films for New Horror Fans

5.  Drag Me to Hell A lot of people I have spoken to about this movie hated it. Completely and utterly hated it.  Me, on the other hand, absolutely loved it.  I have watched it so many times; that now it may have lost it’s effect but it is really worth a watch and I would tell everyone to put the sound up pretty high!! Sam Raimi once again blends horror and comedy seamlessly to create my favourite movie of 2009.

Alison Lohman is extremely likeable as the lovely Christine and hot-geek Justin Long is his usually self as Clay, Christine’s boyfriend.  The real star of the show  is Lorna Raver as the incredibly creepy and absolutely disgusting Mrs. Ganush.  Never again will loan officers decline extensions to crazy gypsy ladies.

 8 Must See Horror Films for New Horror Fans

6.  American Psycho Christian Bale, I don’t care if you rant like a loony on film sets or sound like a douche and get hurried along in your Oscar speech.  I will never forget you as Patrick Bateman, young hotshot New York banker/crazy chainsaw-nail-gun-weilding lunatic.

Awesome movie… that is all.

8 Must See Horror Films for New Horror Fans

 

7.  Freddy vs. Jason Although this is probably not my favourite of all the Nightmare movies (or Friday movies, for that fact), it is such a ridiculous piece of work that you can’t help but love it.  The characters are horrific, the kills are hilarious.

Robert Englund is gold in his usual Freddy pants and he makes a mockery of Jason throughout the whole film.  I love that I don’t have to think while I watch; it is complete and utter junk food and anyone with half a brain needs to watch this.

One of my all time favourite movies!! This is a true masterpiece in horror/comedy! Loved every minute of it!

8 Must See Horror Films for New Horror Fans

 I know, I know, I have left off quite a lot.  But these are the ones I feel are most relevant for new-gen teenyboppers to start their love of horror movies.

Give me your thoughts below guys! 🙂

Comments
  1. prosemachine says:

    I haven’t seen Drag me to Hell yet… But it looks awesome. Nor have I seen Ginger Snaps… Great list but you missed Halloween with Michael Myers! Actually, I think every new horror fan should see all the major slashers (Texas Chainsaw Massacre, Halloween, Nightmare on Elm Street, Friday the Thirteenth, and Chucky.

  2. I agree with the previous post: how do you leave out the original “Halloween” or include “Freddy vs Jason” over the originals from those franchises? The original Nightmare scared the crap out of me!

    And I know I’m in the minority, but I think “American Psycho” and “Ginger Snaps” are overrated. I’m sure no one will agree, but I don’t get the fascination with them. They’re good, not great.

    • No-one said it was a list of the great horror movies my friend.. it’s a list of movie that personally I think would be a good start introducing someone new to horror would like..we have to remember the average movie lover doesn’t always love the old cheesy,bad Fx movies like some of us! It’s an opinion based list really..may differ from person to person which is cool too!

      • I don’t know how someone could appreciate “Freddy vs. Jason” without seeing their roots, but to each his own. Sadly, I do get – from showing many of these to my own kids – that not everybody likes the classics or appreciates what the slashers of the 70s and 80s really were.

      • yeah sucks that some aren’t into the timeless classics like me and you 😦

Leave a Reply

